11 thoughts on “objects are closer than they appear

  1. drd Post author

    This is the first time that I have committed to documenting any part of my life in writing. I don’t really know why that is the case, but I can definitely attribute this to friends and family who have encouraged me to do so for this particular trip that began four days ago in New Hampshire. I have no idea when it will end and really where it will take me, but I’d like to make it to Panama if possible. I have camping gear, this kindle that I am writing on, and a 33 year-old motorcylce.

    I’ve never been much of a blogger or a journaler in the past, and I suppose I never really considered myself to be a strong writer for that matter. I do see the value in blogging and I’m sure that in retrospect I will be glad that I wrote down my thoughts and observations, shared photos and videos, music and, well, I don’t really know what else, but I’m excited that I have finally started. I’ve been thinking about a suitable voice for this blog; one that allows me to speak freely without ruffling the feathers any passer-byers. I’ve decided that the best voice is probably just my own and I will try not to think too much about the ol’target audience. I will humbly take the advice of a good friend of mine, Gloria, who I know from Ecuador from about five years ago.

    Gloria and I were co-leading a student volunteer trip in the Equatorial Amazon, in a small Quechua village about three hours West of the city of Tena. The students (mainly 1st and 2nd year university students from the US and Canada) were there to support different educational, environmental and income generation programs alongside the folks from Campo Cocha; a 90 family community that settled on the banks of the Napo river about 150 years ago. The organization that I was working for at the time did a great job of filling our students with some rather bold expectations of participating in “truly meaningful development projects” and having “life changing experiences”. The projects actually aimed to alleviate some very real problems, and some tough-love was needed to dampen the expectations at times.

    In this particular case, the underrepresented folks from Campo Cocha had been fighting a long battle with companies like Shell and PetroEcuador, who were strategizing to run their oil pipeline across the Napo river; threatening the ecosystems in the area and the water on which everything strongly depended. From the student-volunteer perspective, this trip offered a rather piercing glimpse into the reality of our truly marginalized hosts, and gave them a chance to get their hands dirty and hopefully strengthen the platform on which Campo Cocha stood when confronting the oil representatives. Working along side each student, our gracious hosts enjoyed some new facilities including an artisenal craft workshop, some new cacao harvesting installations and the kids enjoyed playing with their new gringo fiends on a daily basis. From a socio-cultural perspective, the exchange was priceless. Unfortunately, the jury is out as to whether or not we actually changed the inevitable fate of Campo Cocha.

    There are a lot of things to consider, and I’m not quite ready to work out the rubics on it at the moment. I will say that I am increasingly sceptical of the appropriateness of attempting to address local problems with international resources, despite the fact that a lot was accomplished and gained from this brief exchange. At the time, all I could do was stress the importance of writing about it, reflecting, being present throughout the whole experience and really thinking about which stories you choose to tell.

    Getting back to Gloria’s advice, as we were debriefing the project and preparing for departure, Gloria left us with a few thoughts of her own: “Share everything. Share photos and stories, anecdotes and your observations with friends and family. Share everything, but save the best part for yourself.”

    I’ll take that advice and apply it here. I hope you all enjoy reading about my travels and tribulations…

    Reply
  2. gregsouza

    Great job Dave. I enjoyed this post much, and I think that you were very articulate and complete in how you began and ended this post. I think that Gloria is right that you should keep a journal and document your experiences. Not all of us are able/willing/awesome enough to enjoy some of the adventures that you have enjoyed, and are about to enjoy. So please, let me live through your adventures, especially since you are a good friend of mine and I imagine I can see where your head is at. Good luck man, and be safe. Let us all reminisce, and your right, don’t worry about your target audience. Keep it real.

    Reply
  3. Sebastian

    Buena suerte compadre! Nos vemos cuando cruces el Puente de Las Ámericas en Panamá!!! And make sure you take some extra parts of that 33 yr old bike (if you can find em) in case things starting braking down!..
    Saludos

    Reply
  4. Paul DeMinico

    Dear David,
    How very impressive a summary of your work in the Amazon. I guess I am a bit envious of your travels and experiences to come on your trip…places unknown. Know that I am with you every day in my thoughts, hoping that you will be safe and fulfilled in your travels. You have already started wth a few technical challenges but for now on I wish you sunny skies and safe travels…
    Love you,
    Dad

    Reply
  5. Brooke Estin

    I’m so glad you’re taking this on, David! You have so much experience to share and I am really looking forward to reading more about your never ending advantures!

    Reply
  6. Cristina

    This sounds great, Dave! I agree with Gloria’s “Share everything, but save the best part for yourself” mantra… the french call that your ‘secret garden’ and, as you might guess, the french know what they’re talking about when it comes to deep stuff. I can’t wait to read more! ¡Buena suerte!

    Reply
  7. Raquel Pellicer

    ¡Me encanta el consejo de tu colega Gloria! Compartir es vivir, pero… ¿cómo se comparte la mejor parte si es normalmente inexplicable?
    Ahora, sabiendo que no nos vas a contar lo mejor, no pienso volver a leer las parrafadas de tu blog. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment